top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Review: With Every Heartbeat by Linda Kage


I used to think everything was black and white, truth or lie, easy or hard, that if I could just escape my strict, overbearing, abusive father, my life would be perfect. But since I’ve found a reason to risk his wrath and leave, to help a friend in need, I’ve come to realize everything I thought I knew is wrong.

Friends have their own agenda, honesty comes with a dosage of lie, easy doesn’t even exist, keeping secrets sucks, and love...love is the most painful thing of all.

Maybe if Quinn Hamilton hadn’t asked me to skip classes for the day and help him pick out an engagement ring for my best friend, I wouldn’t have fallen for him so completely on that sunny Tuesday afternoon and I wouldn’t feel so conflicted. But I did, and I can’t take it back, no matter how hard I try. So I have to deal with the fact that even I’m not as good, or honest, or caring as I’d always thought I was, and no matter what I do next, someone’s going to get hurt. Probably me.

-Zoey Blakeland

My Opinion:

4 cute sexily learned stars!!!

“His blue-eyed gaze froze me. I felt like the guy he’d shoved against the wall: held captive in his grip and unable to break free.”

Soooo, these previous moths I’ve been wondering about this book. A lot. Because when the synopsis went out I became frantic about the possibility of one of Kage characters cheating. Like, no, that’s just bad. But the she assures all that it isn’t that way…. Then I was curious of why Quinn’s book was out before the Ten’s one. Not that I didn’t liked Quinn on the previous book, but Ten was all over the place. So I had my doubt. But, Oh, Sweet Baby Jesus!!! This book was heaven served in front on my eyes just without a cherry on top. This book introduces us all to Zoey, Cora’s best friend desde el año de las guaracas. She is sweet, shy, with a big heart and loyal. Though Whora didn’t deserved it. But Zoey was like that with everybody, she is like that girl that you want to be BFF for life because you know she won’t disappoint you no matter what

Zoey had an abusive father, so when Cora needs her for something, she is there. And this time at the perfect time. Quinn grew up, in not one of the best ways. So the relate instantly. They share a connection that can’t be broken; they have a lot of things in common. So definitely perfect for each other, but they never do something to develop that. And it was kind of heartbreaking read them struggling with their feelings, trying to stay loyal doing the right thing.

I felt guilty because Cora had interrupted my moment with Zoey, as if I’d just cheated on Zoey—not Cora.

And there is Cora.

Slash, Whora.

And I hated her.

“Dude, we called her Cora the Whora. How did you never know that? Before you two hooked up, she’d had just about every guy on the team.

I hated, hated her with all my reader heart. Yes, she was a cliché, that’s why I don’t give the book the 5 start. Cora is those whining, selfish, bit%$ that goes on in life thinking the world would fall apart if she doesn’t have what she wants. Wants, nor needs. That’s what upset me the most in this book. And the fact that Quinn made a stupid decision (from what I think). But I didn’t expect her do something good; right away I didn’t like her. Maybe I prejudiced, but in this case I don’t holy care.

“Do you remember that night, Zoey? Do you remember what we almost did?”

Quinn is a very special forbidden man. He is all man up, but is sooooo sweet that I just wanted to hug him through my tablet and kiss the screen imagine it was his cheeks. OK no, but close. Jajaja. Yes, he makes stupid choices, yes he still isn’t perfect and yes, he made my anger come to alive and felt the shivers of my rage. But at the end I loved him.

But he wasn’t that perfect as Pick. —Sorry if you don’t like that I compare him, I can’t control myself, Pick is like my Forbidden God—. But at the same time –I know, there’re a lot of buts- Quinn is special. He has his one personality, and gives that feels of tenderness and vulnerability mixed with sexiness and roughness. His own stamp. And you won’t forget him in a billion years. That is, of course, if you loved the book.

And aside from all Quinn/Zoey/Cora relationship, there’s something, and someone, so magically beautiful that had my heart beating every time. And that was Ten. It presents a bit of Caroline-Ten drama and from what his book will be coming. Let me remind you that Caroline is Noel’s sister. That says it all. However going back to Every Heartbeat, Ten bonded with Zoey in a manner so beautiful that had me wishing I have someone like him in my life forever. But you have to read the book to comprehend this.

“Blondie?” Ten asked with a snort. “Hell, yes, she’ll be fine. God wouldn’t let something bad happen to one of his angels.” I glanced at him in surprise, because what he’d said didn’t sound like anything he would say, ever.

This book is highly recommendable, it’s sweet and hot. Fill with emotions. Makes you happy and the other second you are cursing to wonder nature right next to you. But it is what it is. It wasn’t perfect, a bit of cliché, but at the same time it was very unique.


bottom of page